Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I know that not all the people who read this blog are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, but I am one. We are in the midst of our general conference, which happens every six months. During this time, we are able to listen to instruction given to us through the Prophet and the Apostles. Today, President Henry B. Eyring, an Apostle and a member of the First Presidency, spoke on a topic that I really needed to hear.

Lately, the last eight months or so, I have been going through some very hard changes and trials in my life. I will not go into detail over what’s been going on, but I do want to to say one thing about these last few months, and especially these last two weeks. I have been in quite the slump lately and I had lost all hope of me ever attaining the happy future that I always wanted. I honestly cannot see how it is going to happen. I lost hope that I would ever be able to find the happiness and life that I see so many people around me starting.

I have plenty of faith, but it is mostly in how the Atonement of Jesus Christ can heal others. For some reason, the faith that it will work for me is harder to find. I seem to always see good things happening to those around me, while missing out on them myself. I cannot see myself enjoying these blessings. I just cannot see how it could happen. I have faith in the power of the Atonement, but I don’t have the faith that I can find the happiness and peace that I desire in this life.

First of all, I want to make it clear that I know this isn’t true at all. I am very blessed in my life. I have a wonderful family, great friends, and the opportunity to learn at an amazing university. I have paths open to me that most people can only dream of. But I still feel major gaps in my life – ones that are very high on my list of things I feel I need. I feel ungrateful when I talk about the things that I’m missing out on, because of how much I have been blessed with, and how little suffering I’ve actually had to go through when so many of Heavenly Father’s children suffer more than I can imagine every day.

But still, I look at the position I’m in now, and the things that I want most are completely out of my reach. I don’t have the vision to see how they can happen. It seems completely hopeless to me. And it has been severely depressing to me.

President Eyring directed his comments to those in this same position – to anyone who is feeling weighed down by the trials in life. To those who may feel their faith is slipping. To those who don’t feel like they can go on, that feel like they are being crushed by the troubles in this life, that have lost hope in the future.

He brought up this question. What is faith? His answer I have heard time and time again, but never applied it to myself. He used a scripture to answer the question. The scripture is found in the Book of Mormon. It is Ether 12:6.

And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; I would show unto the world that faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.

What does this scripture actually mean? Well, in my case, it means that even though I cannot see any way that I will be blessed in the ways that I want to be, it can still happen. Just because it seems impossible to me, that does not mean that it’s impossible. I need to understand that it isn’t impossible, even if I think it is. I need to have faith in something that I cannot see.

So for all of you that are without hope, that cannot see a way out of the circumstances that you may find yourself in – no matter what those may be – there is always hope. Anything is possible with God’s help and through the Savior’s Atonement. Even for me. And especially for you. Have faith, pray. He is there waiting to help you. The way may not always be easy, but it will definitely be worth it.

I know this is true, even if I need to find more faith in its power to work in my own life. This is something that I myself need to work on. While it may seem that I am speaking to all of you reading this, I am really talking to myself. I need help finding this faith, the faith that I am currently lacking. May we all do so is my hope and prayer.

– Bernt

