Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about this little blog that I have going here. I thought it was quite the achievement when I went for a few months not missing a single day of posting an entry. Then I had the unfortunate displeasure of realizing that I didn’t have the time to write a good thought for every day. Sure I was putting a lot of thoughts out there, but it wasn’t good stuff. Instead of handing out real good apple pies occasionally, I resorted to flinging mud pies in all directions in order to keep up with the schedule I had set myself. So, I tried dwindling down my thoughts to three a week. While in school this still seems a little much. I’ve decided to simply write a thought whenever a though comes to me, rather than trying to force inspiration to hit on a scheduled basis. Hopefully I am saying goodbye to the mud pies and delivering more scrumptious apple pies than ever before.

So, with that in mind, here is a thought for y’all.

Life is full of ups and downs, a roller coaster of sorts. However, while a roller coaster thrills you on the ride down the hills, the exact opposite applies to life. The ride down is never as fun as the ride up the hills of life. We bask in accomplishing things in this life, whether it is graduating from college, getting the jobs of our dreams, accomplishing goals, or simply surviving the week so that we might have a little bit of fun on the weekend. When the world around us starts to crumble and we see ourselves starting over the edge to go down the other side of that hill, we start to panic and do everything in our power (and out of our power) to stop the ride. The downside ride on these hills is a part of life, and in many cases far out of our control.

Unlike a roller coaster, life presents us with multiple paths from which to choose. When we find ourselves on the brink of our downhill journey we need to start the search for which path we want to take rather than trying to stop the ride. Look forward with faith and focus on what you can control. You will always be discouraged when focusing on aspects of life that are not in your control. How do you find joy in the downhill ride? Use the momentum to find and climb the next hill. That is how roller coasters work. The bad things in life have a tendency to lead us to the best things in life. William Gaines said, “Most of my major disappointments have turned our to be blessings in disguise. So whenever anything bad does happen to me, I kind of sit back and think, ‘Well, if I give this enough time, it’ll turn out that this was good, so I shouldn’t worry about it too much.'”

Try to ride the downhill express in life gracefully. If you do, without screaming and trying to stop the momentum of life, you will find that it has carried you to places where you only dreamed of ever being. Sometimes those places will be beyond what you ever dreamed of having. You will find yourself where you truly belong, and as happy as can be.

