“Your time is limited, don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma, which is living the result of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinion drowned your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition, they somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

Steve Jobs

You know, Steve Jobs had a lot of character flaws. He was a ruthless boss and it seems that he wasn’t a very likable person all around. He did help bring some great consumer products to our lives, either through being so relentless in his perfectionistic views or by driving others to be very creative in order to keep their jobs. His methods were interesting, to say the least, and pretty much go against what any management class will teach you. I think he was an anomaly. So why was he successful?

Steve did what he wanted to do, no matter what the status quo was. He pushed so hard for his ideas that it seemed to those around him that he was literally distorting reality and making impossible things happen every day. He followed his inner voice that was guiding him, and although it was ruthless at times, it got him where he really wanted to be.

Too many times we let others dictate what we want. We let them tell us what we want to do, rather than making up our minds for ourselves. We need to take their advice seriously, but when all is said and done, there are really two or three people that should be involved in making decisions for your life. The first is obviously you. You need to do what feels right to you. The second is the Lord. He will guide you to the places in life where you can gain the maximum happiness. He knows you better than you do. The third is your spouse, if you have one. These three individuals are those whose opinions really matter.

So many people are trying to tell me what I should do with my life at this time. I just nod and say I already have a plan, even if they disagree with it. I have considered it very carefully in my mind, and have not received any negative feedback from the Lord. My plans feels right. I know that it may change due to unforeseen circumstances, but I’ll deal with that when it happens. For now, I’m going to act until I feel that there is something better for me to do. Despite the fact that I may not get a six-figure salary where I want to go, I know that I will be happiest there.

Don’t let other people lead your life! It is your life. Take their counsel and give it serious consideration, but the final decision is yours to make. Seek the input of the Lord in your decisions. He will not make them for you, but He will let you know if you’re heading down a path that He doesn’t want you on. And lastly, be ready to change directions in life at a moments notice. Some courses of action are right for the time being, but only temporarily. Be ready for change when it comes, and don’t get so stuck in the ruts of your ways that you can’t get out when your exit comes along.

I don’t agree with a lot of the things that Steve Jobs did. He was an intriguing person, and definitely inspired extraordinary results. One thing he did right was to follow his heart.

