27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

John 14:27

Have you ever wondered what the Lord means when he He says that He doesn’t give us peace as the world does? I’ve thought about this, and many times when we sing the words peace on earth, good will toward man, but I don’t think that we fully understand the meaning of those words. Christ Himself said He was bringing the sword, not peace. So what does this all mean?

Well, here is the difference. The peace that Christ refers to is personal, internal peace. The world views peace as the lack of conflict between different nations and peoples. Christ is very personal, and promises each of us His peace if we follow His commandments. He doesn’t promise that there will be world peace. However, even in the midst of all the conflict around us, we can experience the peace that He spoke of.

I served in the military, and while serving in Iraq I did see some stressful situations. What surprised me was the fact that when things got really crazy I felt the most at peace. Even though bombs were going on around us, I felt completely at peace and knew that no matter what happened, everything was going to be all right. This is the type of peace that the Lord promised us, and nobody in this world can take it away from us.

