Believing, receiving the burning inside
Learning and yearning for greater light
Melting the frost
Moving the lost

Chorus
Through the winds of change
Encircled by the clouds of pain
I guard it with my life
I need the warmth I need the light
And though the storm will rage
I stand against the pounding rain
I remain a keeper of the flame

Inspiring fire blazing in truth
Living and giving
Leading to You
Filling my soul
Willing to go

Repeat Chorus

I remain a keeper of the flame

Keeper of the Flame, Julie de Azevedo

I love this song. It gives us a good representation of how vital our testimonies are. However, with all the protection that a testimony may offer us, we need to actively guard and nourish it. Satan and his forces will try everything they can to subvert your testimony. They don’t necessarily need to make you deny Christ’s teachings. They begin small – a little bit of animosity toward a leader in your ward; a favorite sin that requires justification, or any number of other reasons. Remember – never change the teachings of the gospel to fit your lifestyle. You need to change your lifestyle to fit the teachings of the gospel. They do not change, and never will, so the only variable that can be adjusted in the equation is you.

Once you have that testimony burning inside, cling to it as if your life depends on it, for in reality your eternal life depends on it. Protect it, and it will protect you.

