There’s gotta be another way out
I’ve been stuck in a cage with my doubt
I’ve tried forever getting out on my own.
But every time I do this my way
I get caught in the lies of the enemy
I lay my troubles down
I’m ready for you now.

[CHORUS:]
Bring me out
Come and find me in the dark now
Everyday by myself I’m breaking down
I don’t wanna fight alone anymore
Bring me out
From the prison of my own pride
My God, I need a hope I can’t deny
In the end I’m realizing I was never meant to fight on my own

Every little thing that I’ve known is every thing I need to let go
You’re so much bigger than the world I’ve made
So I surrender my soul
I’m reaching out for your hope
I lay my weapons down
I’m ready for you now.

[CHORUS]

I don’t wanna be incomplete
I remember what you said to me
I don’t have to fight alone

[CHORUS]

On My Own, Ashes Remain

I love this song. To me it is a prayer, from this person to his Heavenly Father. Many times we are very stubborn and trial to tackle life’s problems on our own. We try to find solutions to problems that we really don’t understand and we try to do this without His help quite often. This song is from the point of view of a person who has finally thrown in the town and given his problems over to the Lord, who is the only one that can provide that hope we can’t deny.

We tend to lock ourselves in our own little prisons, and He is the one that has the key to get us out. We were not meant to go through this life alone, or to tackle these issues on our own. Turn yourself over to the Lord and let Him help you overcome those things that you cannot overcome yourself.

