Tonight I think I am going to use a personal experience for my thought. The last part of last year was really dark and difficult for me. I’m still suffering from lingering aftershocks, but for the most part I have found some peace. A few months ago, during a really dark and hard time, we had stake conference. I was praying a lot of the blessings that I was missing in life – not focusing at all on those that I did have. The blessings I was desiring were all good ones that many people do want, and none of them were extremely selfish, such as wealth, etc.

I went to stake conference, not really feeling up to going, but going anyway because it was what I knew I should do. All through the session I sat there, not really being touched much by any of the speakers. The talks were good, but they weren’t directed at me as much. Then came along the closing hymn, I Believe in Christ. This is one of my very favorite hymns. Since it was a conference, the choir was singing the song, and they sang the version that the Mormon Tabernacle Choir sings. There is one part of the song that crescendos quite a bit, and provides a climax for the song. It is the last line of this verse:

I believe in Christ; he stands supreme!
From him I’ll gain my fondest dream;
And while I strive through grief and pain,
His voice is heard: “Ye shall obtain.”

When that verse was sung, I was filled with such a strong feeling of love and peace that I started weeping. It wasn’t the answer that I was looking for. I was hoping that my desires would be granted. It was simply my Heavenly Father telling me that I needed to be patient – all my righteous desires would be realized according to His plan for me. I just needed to trust Him.

I went away from that meeting feeling a peace that had eluded me for the better part of a year. I hadn’t received what I wanted to, but I had received the answer that I needed.

