We know our friends by their defects rather than by their merits.

W. Somerset Maugham

True friends are those people that know us so well that our shortcomings are open up before them. They know our little quirks and weaknesses. They know our fears, our dreams, and our sorrows. They know how to get under our skins and may occasionally do it, just for the fun of it. Friends may be annoying sometimes, or under appreciated, but they also are the people that are there for you when everyone else fails you.

I am very grateful for those people who put up with me, even though they know my faults. I have many faults, of which they know, and they still somehow stick around. I am very grateful for these people in my life. They are the ones that I rely on, too much sometimes. Be grateful for the friends that you have, for those that support you when you need the help the most. True friends will go through things with you, not just provide moral support from the sidelines. “A friend will bail you out of jail, a true friend will be sitting in there next to you saying, ‘Man, that was fun!'”

I had to throw a little humor in there. But seriously, be grateful for your friends. Try to return the favor and be there for them. We wouldn’t go anywhere in this life without our friends.

 

