7 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.

1 Nephi 3:7

I was thinking a lot about this scripture today, mainly thanks to my personal finance class. We talked about debt today, and the commandment to get out of debt. I will not focus on debt, but these were my thoughts on a more general basis.

We have been commanded to do certain things in this life. Most of those things apply to all of us – get out of debt, pay tithing, serve others, etc. Some are very specific, such as what Nephi was dealing with when he uttered those words. Each of us can recognize commandments specific to us that we look at feeling like they are impossible. The Lord doesn’t give us promptings or commandments lightly. He wants us to succeed, and His commandments are designed to help us do so.

I believe that the Lord wants us to succeed so much that as we work towards keeping commandments, He will provide ways for us to accomplish those things, no matter how impossible. We know the outcome of Nephi’s story. It’s easy to have faith in something when you already know the ending. Keep in mind that Nephi could not see the end of his story while he was living it. The Lord miraculously provided a way for him to accomplish his mission. The Lord will do the same for us, whether we struggle financially, spiritually, or emotionally. He will provide a way, because He loves us and wants us to succeed.

