Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m basing this thought off of the First Presidency Message for this month, which was given by President Thomas S. Monson. I’m going home teaching, so I figured that I would use it as my thought, too.

In that message, President Monson shares his thoughts on what we can do to make our lives abundant in those things that are most important in this life. He shares them in a clever way, as always. Since we refer to the ABC’s as the basics of education, he gives us the ABC’s of living an abundant life.

A – Attitude. We have a choice, every day, about what kind of day we will have. Sure there are various external factors that can affect us, but ultimately it is our decision. It is difficult to stay positive sometimes. Keep at it. You will find that you can find the positive in any situation, if you have the right attitude about it.

B – Believe. Believe “in yourself, in those around you, and in eternal principles.” I have the most difficulty believing in myself. I can believe in the abilities of those around me, and I rely heavily on those. I have a strong testimony, which is still growing daily, in those things eternal. But I need to find a way to believe in myself. I need to find faith in myself somehow. If you’re struggling with that, find a way. And if you find a way, share it with me, please.

C – Courage. Have the courage to stand up for and live what you believe. Have the courage to takes the risks that are required to be truly great in this life. Have the courage to do things that frighten you, as long as they are still good and sensible. Have the courage to be a true disciple of Christ.

If we follow these three simple basics, I believe that President Monson’s promise will be realized. He is a prophet, and he has made a promise in the capacity of his calling.

