Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

And in despair I bowed my head:
“There is no peace on earth,” I said,
“For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men.”
Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail,
With peace on earth, good will to men.”

– I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote this shortly after his wife died and his son had been severly injured in the Civil War. He was within the midst of the bloodiest war the US has known, and was still able to find solace in the knowledge that his Savior lives. I want to add my testimony to his.

God does live, and He does support us. He never promised that He would bring peace to the world; in fact, He said that He came to bring a sword. (Matthew 10:34) However, He has promised peace on an individual level. Amidst all the hate, envy, and malice that is in this world, we can feel the peaceful love and support of our Savior, no matter where we are. I felt it in Iraq, with bombs going off and bullets flying past me; even with friends being injured. I know, without any shadow of a doubt, that Jesus Christ lives. He loves us. He gave His life so that we might find peace in this world and after. I emphatically testify of Him, my Savior and Eldest Brother, in His sacred name. Amen.

